EAC Community Heads of State hold 20th Extraordinary Heads of State Summit in Bujumbura

Sat, 02/04/2023

The East Africa Community Heads of State, Their Excellencies Evariste Ndayishimiye, Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, Paul Kagame, Dr. Samia Suluhu Hassan, Felix Tshisekedi Tshilombo, Dr. William Samoei Ruto (Presidents of Burundi, Uganda, Rwanda, United Republic of Tanzania, The Democratic Republic of Congo and Kenya respectively), Hon. Deng Alor Kuor Minister of EAC Affairs representing H.E. Salva Kiir Mayardit, President of the Republic of South Sudan, held the 20th Extra-ordinary meeting of the EAC Heads of State on 4th February 2023 in Bujumbura to evaluate the current security situation in the Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo.

The summit observed that the security situation in Eastern DRC is a regional matter that can only be sustainably resolved through a political process.

A communique on the summit is as below